Back to “school”

Body bar is just one of the many tools used to build strength in my 30/20/10 class.

Body bar is just one of the many tools used to build strength in my 30/20/10 class.

Most people think of September as “Back to School” month and in some ways, I can still relate to that feeling even though I graduated in 2005 and don’t have any kids.

September for me is like January, when fitness folks typically make a “New Year’s Resolution” to start a regular workout.

To update, I got married in the middle of June, which was also the last time of my last formal class. Yikes. I certainly wasn’t lying around while getting married; honeymooning in South of France; attending my sister’s wedding in San Fran; or while packing, moving and unpacking boxes from our apartment into our new house. But it’s not quite the same.

I kept (jokingly) threatening my husband that I was “ready to let go” once I got married. And while the signs certainly seemed to be pointing in that direction, I always knew that September would come around, my Leisure Guide classes would start and I’d get on track. Today, after a three-month hiatus, I returned to a 30/20/10 class.

And it felt good.

While so many parts of my life felt fulfilled, exercise was always there kind of nagging me in the back of my mind. I missed it.

My body felt weak, yet energized after today’s workout. My flexiblity is horrendous, but it’s motivating me to get back into practicing yoga.

I’m glad to be back in class!