Happy 2013!

They say variety is the spice of life. And while I haven’t been working out on a regular basis 3x per week, I have consistently completed at least ONE workout each week (Pretty sure I met my fitness goal for 2012 at least, yay!) and many have been activities I have not blogged about on here before (minus the not-so-exciting workouts in my dull and tiny apartment gym). It’s my fault for not posting what I’ve been doing on the blog, but with a fresh year ahead, why not start fresh with a promise to update more regularly?

On a personal note, I updated the blog headline to reflect that I am now 30 years old and still budget conscious…although I will pay for quality and convenience if that’s what is going to get me active.

Use your body weight to build muscle definition during a TRX body blast class at Yoga Public.

Use your body weight to build muscle definition during a TRX body blast class at Yoga Public.

I’m also getting married this summer, which is exciting. This upcoming milestone and epic photo moment is providing me with extra motivation to get back into a 3x per week routine (at one point it used to be four times–I was pretty buff then for the petite thing I am.)

To kick things off, I spent about 45 minutes last night organizing my fitness schedule for January. I scheduled myself for a number of classes (they are my favourite as you can tell from my old blog posts) and think of them more as “appointments” that must be kept.

Last fall I signed up for 10 weeks of 1-hour long 30/20/10 classes through the Leisure Guide and only missed ONE when I was away on vacation. The time slot seemed to work with my schedule, so I’ve committed myself to another 10 weeks in winter/spring. (Expect to read more in a future post.)

In the meantime, I’m using a two-week unlimited voucher for Yoga Public. I started today with a 45-minute TRX Body Blast workout. I’ve taken TRX before elsewhere, but seem to have forgotten how to adjust all the straps properly and quickly, so I missed a few moves. Other than that I felt like it was a great, quick, full-body workout class that will definitely help with muscle definition and leave me with sore muscles tomorrow. (But the good kind of sore.)

Up next? A 45-minute hot yin class on Friday followed by a romantic skating date at The Forks or Assiniboine Park with my fiance. I’m excited to increase my workouts in the new year. And as always, keep it interesting with lots of variety, which is key to good cross-training.

So, fellow fitness fanatics, what are your fitness goals for 2013? It could be a goal to try ice skating, join a team sport or a 30-day yoga challenge–please share in the comments below!

One response

  1. Pingback: Friday night fitness | winnipegfitnessexplorer

Leave a Reply

