2012 Fitness Goals

What are your fitness goals for 2012?

It might seem like I’m a month late, but hey, it’s never a bad time to talk about goal setting. I set one for myself for 2012 to work out minimum 2x per week for 30 mins. Some weeks I’ve succeeded and others I’ve failed (getting sick for two weekends really killed all ambition to hop on the elliptical). But at least I’ve got a baby step in mind to move forward. I’m tracking my workouts in my gmail calendar (very handy online tool by the way, I love that I can share it with friends and my common law so that they know what I’m up to and when I’m free!)

There’s a gym conveniently located in my apartment building, which doesn’t really make for exciting “Winnipeg’s best fitness” places to discover post, but once our mild winter passes (yes, it’s still cold for me) I’ve got some places in mind to check out *coughyogapublicough*, along with a couple of other fitness vouchers I need to cash in.

That being said, I’m off to do an hour of cardio/weights. My question to you, dear followers, is what are your fitness goals for 2012? It could be anything from “I want to try a hot yoga class” to “I’m training for the Manitoba Marathon.” Share away!

 

 

10 responses

  1. Goal #1. get back to the gym, period. after not going for 4 – 5 months, but still paying, I feel kind of stupid! My goal is usually to exercise 5-6x week (1 hour).
    Goal #2. Try a hot yoga class, even if it kills me. I hear the weight just “falls off”. However, that doesn’t take into account that i still eat like a crazy person. oh well.
    Goal #3. Tennis weekly in the summer! can you help me with that one?

    • Wow Darcie, 5-6x per week is ambitious for me, but good for you for going for it! I’ll go with you to a yoga class at Shapes (I have a voucher). We can talk more at musical night and make a date! And I’m down for weekly tennis. LOVES it!

  2. I’m trying to get back into my regular routine of 4x per week – I totally fell off for a myriad of reasons between November and January. Although at the moment, I’m also trying to work out 6 of 7 days, but alternating between a long and a short workout daily.

  3. Hi, I just stumbled onto your blog this morning.
    Goal #1: quit smoking (1 week in and I think I’m going to do it this time).
    Goal #2: start working out again. Walking & running with the dog, push ups, chin ups, etc.
    Goal #3: Kick some ass in the Dirty Donkey Mud Run in August. If I succeed at goals 1 and 2, this will be tough, but totally doable.

    Do you know of any parks in the south end of the city that have fitness trails? I know years ago the St Vital park fitness trail had various stations, but having a second location would be great for mixing things up and keeping it interesting.

    • Hi Dave, sorry I didn’t seem to get an email about your comment. Congrats on your fitness goals and non-smoking goals, I hope you’re still on track! The Dirty Donkey Mud Run sounds interesting…might be cool to write about in the blog.

      You know, I’m not aware of any fitness trails in the south end of the city, but I do know the Winnipeg trail association/Prairie Pathfinders are two good resources for the city’s trails. Thanks for leaving a comment!

      • Hi!
        I would like to write about the dirty donkey and the training that I’m doing, and maybe you can consider it for your blog.

    • Hi Dave, for some reason your reply to my comment didn’t seem to make it to my email. How was your Dirty Donkey Mud Run? Is it taking place again? If you’re thinking about doing it again then perhaps you’d be interested in writing a guest post? I’m totally open to that! I made sure to tick the box below that will let me know if you reply.

  4. Pingback: Happy 2013! | winnipegfitnessexplorer

Leave a Reply

