Savasana in the sun and some great sporting sales!

Summer is the season for a plethora of outdoor group yoga sessions.

Wow, you know it’s summer when you are inundated with all sorts of notices for free exercise classes taking place in the great outdoors. Take advantage of the opportunity and try out a new activity/sport or save those hard-earned dollars for a future holiday. My schedule is quickly filling up with all sorts of fitness related events lately and the cost to partake is minimal.

To start, I just wanted to say that I took my sweet new ride out for a spin on Sunday. I rode my bike across Assiniboine Park and halfway down Wellington before turning around when my middle toes started to cramp. An ice cream break at Sargeant Sundae followed before heading home. So the ice cream may have negated any health benefits, whatever, it was still a blast. I’ll try to get some pics up of my fave insider’s sneaky shortcut into the park that local Charleswood residents have been using for years. Or maybe it’s not that sneaky…you tell me!

Tomorrow I’m going to Assiniboine Park again from 6:30-8:30 for a two-hour group yoga practice for charity. This gigantic Moksha Yoga “karma” class costs $5 and as long as the rain holds off, it should be an energizing experience. No need to pre-register either as my co-worker found out when she called for more info.

I’ve made plans to FINALLY play some tennis with a group of friends at my favourite free courts on Thursday that I mentioned before here. Also, I’m going to check out “yoga in the park” again that I went to last week.

If I were more of an early riser and still living at my old place, I’d totally go to fresh cafe‘s free yoga practice for all levels from 7-8 am on Thursday mornings. Instead, I’m going to my second session of “yoga in the park” put on by the Downtown Biz at Memorial Park at noon on Thursday.

And if you need more free yoga and/or running clinics in your life, join lululemon Polo Park’s facebook page for updates on their regular Sunday morning “Run. Yoga. Live.” event held on by the duck pond. The run is at 9 am and yoga is at 10:30. Apparently they are family friendly too–very nice!

There’s also a quirky exercise deal on Swarmjam for 10 jazzercise classes for $25 (reg. $75). Classes are only offered three times a week, which is kind of a bummer, but they sound like tons of fun.

Finally, it’s the time of year when summer sales start kicking into high gear. Sport Chek is having a giant summer sale on a lot of their summer sporting goods from bikes to tennis raquets to apparel.

Enjoy the great weather!

 

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

