Tennis Time

Swing into summer at Tuxedo Tennis Club.

You know it’s summer when there’s a cool, gentle breeze and the outdoor tennis courts are in full swing. Since winter tennis club memberships are not affordable on a writer’s salary, it’s a sport I reserve strictly for warmer months. All winter I’m practically chomping at the bit to get out there and start whacking the ball. It’s stress relieving and forces me to move my feet for some solid interval training, one of the best workouts you can get. I went out for my first time this season with my Dad and got back into the swing of things!

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m a member at Tuxedo Tennis Club. I don’t join in the team tennis or doubles nights or anything, but as a member I love the bi-weekly group tennis clinics held by the tennis pro, Roland. Although, lately it seems like he’s passing on the torch to some younger pros while he focuses on private lessons. Regardless, the instruction at these clinics is awesome and has helped me pick up the game quickly. Lessons are pricey, so having this feature thrown into the membership is a great cost-saver. Adult membership is $175, but if you team up with family the price goes down significantly — $85 for a second family member and only another $15 any additional members. Gone on holiday for most of summer? You can still pick up a monthly membership for $60. Students are $85 and juniors under 18 are $70. Consider all the programming, the nice clubhouse, the well-maintained courts and the clinics and it’s pretty good deal.

The brilliant thing about tennis is that if you’re not totally sure about your fanaticism for the sport, then you can always play at one of the many free public courts out there. My favourite courts are located behind Mona Lisa/Domino’s Pizza on Corydon. The surface is smooth (as of last summer), and the nets and fence is in good condition. There are three of them and while there are often people there, there is also often an empty court. Where do you like to play tennis in the city?

Another cost to factor in: rackets! They come in a range of prices at sports stores. Scope out garage sales or kijiji for some bargains too, or just borrow a friend’s. I’ve got two extra ones kicking around in my closet that I lend out frequently.

I’ll wrap it up with a link to an awesome 30% off sale on Prince tennis gear (my current racket of choice!) on at amazon.ca right now. Orders over $25 receive free shipping.


		
12 responses

  1. Pingback: Super summer passes at Wellness Institute « winnipegfitnessexplorer

  2. Pingback: Back to boot camp! « winnipegfitnessexplorer

  3. Pingback: Savasana in the sun and some great sporting sales! « winnipegfitnessexplorer

  4. Pingback: Summer fitness « winnipegfitnessexplorer

  5. What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It
    absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads.
    I hope to give a contribution & help different customers like
    its helped me. Good job.

  6. Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old one!
    It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Superb choice of colors!

  7. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your site. You have some really good articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some content for your blog in exchange
    for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email
    if interested. Thanks!

  8. Hello there I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through
    it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic b.

Leave a Reply

