Two Practices, One Peg City Yoga Studio

Going with the flow at Peg City Yoga.

I’m currently taking a break from packing (it never ends!) and royal watching to jot down my thoughts about Peg City Yoga, a studio I’ve attended a few times through Passport to Prana & the Lifestyle Pass. Thanks to these awesome programs (read about Passport to Prana here), Peg City Yoga is one of my favourite discoveries.

For those of you unfamiliar with the Lifestyle Pass, it’s a $40 pass, that guides Winnipeggers to local businesses offering the best of the best lifestyle experiences from clothing to food to spa to fitness. There are great discounts to be had in this pass, from 2 for 1 for the hamam at Ten Spa to discounted fitness passes at places like Pilates Manitoba. For details on where to pick up this must-have coupon book, click here.

Back to the review, here’s a breakdown on this studio based on my few visits.

Who: Peg City Yoga

Where: On the second floor of a business on Osborne, 1/2 – 213 Osborne St (love the free parking at the back!)

Style: Took Flow Yoga and Slow Flow

Best for: Yogis comfortable with the basics will comfortably transition into slow flow. There isn’t a ton of time spent on demonstration, so it might not be the best choice if you aren’t familiar with proper form. Flow yoga is best for those who want a real challenge and invigorating workout. The studio is warm, but not hot.

Studio: Neatly tucked away on the second floor in an older building, this yoga studio ticks all the boxes in the cute, cozy and character catagories. The studio has a vintage vibe, as one can tell from the cool embossed ceiling. Plants and zen-like decor accents at the front of the room are pleasant touches.  The hardwood floors are nice, until you end up on a creaky spot. If you can find the sweet non-squeaky spot, it’s a lovely space to practice in.  The major pitfall is the itty bitty changing rooms that can’t accommodate an entire class. It’s cramped and crowded, so if you can, change at home where you won’t be elbowing your neighbour.

Vibe: Right from the intro at the front desk, the vibe is really laid-back and chilled, but make no mistake, the instructors and yogis are serious about their practice. Looking around during the class, there didn’t seem to to be any brand spanking new beginner types. Everyone worked at their own level of course, but I could sense that everyone had been doing this for awhile and appeared to be loyal to the studio judging from snippits of conversations. The instructors typically sign everyone in and were all really friendly and encouraging to new visitors to the studio, a must if you want people to return!

Cost: Used my Passport to Prana card/Lifestyle Pass. For non-cardholders, there’s a one-month intro deal for $59.99 and three months for $159.99 (seniors and students receive 10% off). Otherwise it’s a $15 drop-in fee, 1 month for $99.99, 3 month 279.99 , 5 classes $59.99, 10 classes $109.99, 15 classes $149.99.

Experience: I have mixed reviews on my practices, one of them because I was in a class that was too advanced. I was expecting a slow flow class, so I wasn’t mentally prepared for it. That being said, I heard grumblings in the change room and among my colleagues about the difficulty of that class, which was only rated at 2-star (beginning/continuing). My big gripe about the class was the lack of intention setting. After a quick warm-up, the class immediately launched into a side plank with a leg hovering. Two points of balance right off the hop? Not cool! Of course I kept shaking holding the pose and modified to suit my body’s ability. I felt frustrated and annoyed the whole class after that. Again, I looked up the wrong class so it was partially my own fault for coming in with different expectations, but I also don’t think that side plank, or many of the moves, would be considered beginner, which is how the class was partially labeled. Beginner options should have been offered, which they weren’t.

That being said, my practice previous to the frustrating one was incredible. The instructor passed out chanting scripts, something I had never done before. I did the “om” at the beginning and was just open to the chanting bit. Didn’t feel comfortable jumping in since I didn’t know the words or tune, but pretty much everyone else was into it. Everyone followed a series of flow moves after that at their own pace and it flew by. I’ll never forget how relaxed I felt at the end of that slow flow, where I practically melted into the mat after the instructor placed a blanket on everyone in savasana.

Overall I’d give the studio a pretty good rating though. I’d like to go back there at some point, but for now I’ve got more places to explore!

Up next? Brickhouse Gym fitness boot camp. Let’s just say I almost threw up after round one. Here’s hoping I get in better shape soon!

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Super summer passes at Wellness Institute « winnipegfitnessexplorer

  2. Pingback: Two fab fitness deals | winnipegfitnessexplorer

  3. Brickhouse gym is brutal!!!!!!! Poor cutomser service and incorrect information on their website. Do not pre-pay for anything because they will change the terms of the offer after you do.

    I bought a voucher through LIving Social for 10 bootcamp sessions…..before buying the voucher I looked at their website to make sure I would be able to attend the bootcamp times.

    After I bought the voucher and tired to register with Brickhouse (which took 3 phone calls and 2 emails to even get a response back) to attend the bootcamp I was told that the information on their website was incorrect and that there was only one time slot available to attend. I’m not able to attend this time slot due to my work schedule leaving the voucher I purchased useless.

    • That’s terrible! Did you contact Living Social about the issue? Usually these deal sites stand by the businesses they work with and offer money-back guarantees. Brickhouse in the meantime, has lost a potential customer, which is not good since the fitness market is very competitive. I have yet to return to a boot camp as I’m not really feeling fit enough to go through that experience again. I passed out on the couch from exhaustion and kind of felt nauseous!

  4. winnipegfitnessexplorer: Looks like you need to keep ‘exploring’ fitness on a more regular basis if you can’t even manage to make it through 1 bootcamp! LOL Passed out on couch lol What a sissy! More gym time and less Oreos I’d say

Leave a Reply

